ROSWELL , Or How A Crappy 90’s Show Is Making Me Love Life Again

Image

So yes, I have just started watching this is cheesy ass show that used to be on the WB and was later moved to UPN (the true resting ground for any form of entertainment worth watching).  But anyhow, Ive fallen deeply and madly in love with the show.

Fo starters, Its everything I want.  its this normal girl who lives in Roswell, NM.  Her life is changed forever when a fight breaks out at the cafe she works at and she is shot.  Suddenly this guy (who she’s secretly always liked and who has secretly always liked her) comes over and magically heals her.   She discovers he is actually an alien and she gets involved in a larger-than-life situation involving government secrets, epic chases, love, loss, and discovering there is more to the world than Roswell.

Ok, so why do I love this show so much?  Lets start with the lead guy, Mr. Jason Behr. 

Image

Awww…. come on look at that face.  What a cutie!  and there is also this…

Image

Now here I have a few words to describe him> Humpmuffin, Hunkmonster, or SitOnMyFace will all do.  

He is dreamy and hunky and COME ON!!!!! WE ALL KNOW IT MAKES US MORE MORE INTERESTED IN A SHOW WHEN YOURE CRUSHING ON THE LEAD! 

 

But seriously, the real reason is that is gives me hope that there is more to life.  I hate how boring my life is and how much…well… how much NOTHING I tend to do. I Work, I graduated school, and I try to hang with friends… but seriously, what has that done for me? What is that doing for me?  I feel bored.  Bored and unfulfilled everyday.  

LIKE I KNOW THERE IS MORE OUT THERE FOR ME SOMEWHERE AND SOMEHOW 

And all that boredom and that pent up frustration and that feeling wasting of away leads me down into the depression and the panic and the anxiety.  

I was reading this book called “Role Models” by John Waters and he was talking about how he’s always loved people and wanted to e people who lived “extreme lives”.  He admitted that they weren’t all the easiest lives, or the most stable.  But That an extreme life gives you something.  And I agree.

In Spiderman we all know the quote, “With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility”.  And I fully believe that, but i also believe that 

WITH EXTREME RISK COMES EXTREME PAYOFFS

 For example, getting up, going to your 9 to 5 desk job.  Having the weekend off and going to the bars with your friends.  Sure, you can feel stuff.  You can have fun and feel pain and find love.  

But think about a famous singer, or an astronaut or something.  Think of how nervous, and excited, and scared, and jubilant you would feel all at the same time right before you go on stage at a concert, or right before you release a new album filled with songs you wrote and hope the world will love.  Or, in the case of the astronaut, think of that moment… you’re looking up at the sky knowing you’re about to be blasted into the absolute abyss of space.   They live on a more extreme level than we do.  THEY FEEL MORE THAN WE DO

And I want that feeling.  I want it so bad.  I want my life to mean something.  I want to be brought to tears and I want to smile and laugh so uncontrollably that people think I’m crazy and I want to feel love and happiness, and YES I know that the capacity to feel great pleasure means you also have the capacity to feel great pain. BUT HELLO BITCHES!  Ive got panic and anxiety and depression.  My life sucks.  Im already feeling extreme pain.  

ITS ABOUT DAMN TIME I FEEL THE EXTREME HAPPINESS 

And yeah so what its stupid and cheesy and whatever, but this show is giving me hope that Ill find the happiness and excitement I’m looking for.  Its making me feel good inside.  Give it a shot, it might make you feel the same 🙂

Leave a Reply

