INFJ, The Rarest (And Honestly, the Fuckin’ Coolest) Type

Image

So, when I first started therapy a few months ago my therapist did this huge surgery of me for something called the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator.  This is basically where you answer a bunch of questions and you get your four letters which define your personality type.  If you have never taken one of these tests do it, its actually really informative!

So, anyway, I got the INFJ.  Which stands for introversion, intuition, feeling, judging. INFJ is actually the rarest type, only about 1% of the population falls under this type. Now back a few months ago when she first handed me the print out of this I didn’t care too much.  I was kind of like.. oh cool, some papers about nothing.. NOW JUST TELL ME HOW THE FUCK TO STOP THE ANXIETY ATTACKS! 

But recently Ive been doing kind of bad again, and since I’ve been feeling down I needed some inspiration and did a little research on the INFJ type.. and DO YOU KNOW HOW SWEET WE ARE?

So a little breakdown on the INFJ world:

“As an INFJ, your primary mode of living is focused internally, where you take things in primarily via intuition. Your secondary mode is external, where you deal with things according to how you feel about them, or how they fit with your personal value system.

INFJs are gentle, caring, complex and highly intuitive individuals. Artistic and creative, they live in a world of hidden meanings and possibilities. Only one percent of the population has an INFJ Personality Type, making it the most rare of all the types.

INFJs have uncanny insight into people and situations. They get “feelings” about things and intuitively understand them.This is the sort of thing that other types may scorn and scoff at, and the INFJ themself does not really understand their intuition at a level which can be verbalized. Consequently, most INFJs are protective of their inner selves, sharing only what they choose to share when they choose to share it. They are deep, complex individuals, who are quite private and typically difficult to understand. INFJs hold back part of themselves, and can be secretive.

But the INFJ is as genuinely warm as they are complex. INFJs hold a special place in the heart of people who they are close to, who are able to see their special gifts and depth of caring. INFJs are concerned for people’s feelings, and try to be gentle to avoid hurting anyone. They are very sensitive to conflict, and cannot tolerate it very well. Situations which are charged with conflict may drive the normally peaceful INFJ into a state of agitation or charged anger. They may tend to internalize conflict into their bodies, and experience health problems when under a lot of stress.”

So thats just a bit about being an INFJ. I have the link to that page below if you want to read more.

Image

So yes.  We are the ultimate outcast.  We see things nobody else does.  We feel things nobody else can.  Dude we even feel things to EXTREMES that nobody else can.  We’re idealistic and feel like we have higher purposes.  And ya know what… in most cases, it’s because we do have higher purposes.  If you make a list ranking the most pure souls to ever have lived, and the most evil people to ever walk the Earth,  almost all of them on both sides of the spectrum would be INFJ types. We’re so strong and yet so fragile.

With good nurturing we can change the world (legit, even Jesus Christ is categorized as an INFJ).  Or an INFJ who has been scorned can generate their larger-than-life powers to destroy the world (Hitler was also an INFJ).  In fact here’s a good list of the best and worst of the INFJ spectrum.

Image

From Noam Chomsky and Ghandi, all the way down to Osama Bin Laden.  We are able to be the greatest or the absolute worst people who have ever walked this Earth.

In fact, it is such a known thing that INFJ’s can swing either way that there is a even a term called “The Dark Side”.  For real, go Google INFJ Dark Side.  We are strong and ferocious…. and that last you want to do take a ferociously good soul and make it a ferociously bad soul…

Image

If we INFJ types don’t flow through our life, and live it as we need to.  Bad things will happen.  To most people it seems that we INFJ types float through the air.  Obsessed with a better world, true happiness, and fantasizing and questioning EVERYTHING.  Literally, EVERYTHING.  Do you know every night before I go to sleep I lay in bed and make “movies” in my head?  Its true.  I lay there and close my eyes and throw myself into a situation.  Fighting for the galaxy aboard a spaceship, searching for bigfoot in the Cascades, or even meeting the guy of my dreams in some HORRIBLY cheesy way.  But they can also be bad.  I mean I’ve had horrible nightmares.  Nightmares I couldn’t even describe on this blog.  I even fall into scary daydreams sometimes.  And its all so vivid.  I can feel the bass of the music, see all the colors, genuinely feel the feelings I have in the “movie”/dream.  Its all so much better when my eyes are closed.. its what lets me know that there is more out there.  something bigger and better.

Image

* The Dark Horse would like to say that hopefully these situations totally could happen 😉

But you can’t pull us down from that cloud we live on.  it literally kills us.  An INFJ who is not happy and isn’t living the life they’re meant to is bound to hurt themselves.  There are tons of problems INFJ’s are susceptible to:

Image

And that is where I am right now… not living the life I am meant to.  Ive let the negativity and mean spirits of others pull me down. Im unhappy everyday of my life because I don’t find pleasure in the commoner’s world.  I need more. Which is why I think I’ve got such bad depression and anxiety. If any of you other there feel the same, look into the INFJ personality type.

Image

Seriously.. if there is one type of person to change the world… it’s us, and in general we are good people.  Very, very good people actually!  We are even known as The Protectors.

Image

I also learned that Pocahontas was an INFJ…. hell ya!

Sorry for the super long post.. and yea…. totally not proofread, sowwy bitches!

~The Dark Horse

https://www.personalitypage.com/INFJ.html

Hey guys!  I know you’re like me and love learning about what it means to be INFJ, so here are some other posts I’ve made:

INFJ Struggles With The Modern World

Being INFJ During The Trump Era

I Don’t Do Drugs, I Am Drugs. Being INFJ and Sagittarius

Travel and INFJ (Or, Just Fucking Do It…Its Good For You!)

92 thoughts on “INFJ, The Rarest (And Honestly, the Fuckin’ Coolest) Type

    1. Yea there are multiple types all of them have varying traits and some are very similar to others with some minor differences! Definitely look INFP though. Check out people throughout history who were INFP and see your strengths! It should be super valuable! And I’m glad you liked it!

    1. WHOOOO! IM thinking about making a second INFJ post in a week or so, everything I learn about INFJ is so crazy and cool. I feel like people like me need to hear this stuff to know there is something more out there

  1. Wow, I totally connected with this post. I’m a fellow INFJ who has battled mental health issues for a very long time and only recently did I realize things that enlightened me:

    – That with great powers like being able to see through layers and walls of people right down to their core which they themselves haven’t, comes with burden. The same mind that can tune into the tiniest detail and dissect it to come up with an analysis, is the one that tunes into the tiniest indication of criticism or conflict. Just being with someone who has negative feelings literally makes me feel so bad I’m out of breath, I just need to leave the vicinity.

    – I shouldn’t expect people to reciprocate the same level of care and mindreading that I give to people. This isn’t because they won’t, it’s because they can’t. We are rare for a reason

    – To seek comfort and reassurance from the deep well of empathy and wisdom that I give others

    Being able to walk up to a stranger and comfort their hidden sadness or helping someone before they even ask you to, is worth all the pain in the world.

    It’s as if this is the purpose of an INFJ – to sacrifice ourselves for others, for change.

    1. Yeah, that is very true actually. That is how I feel a lot. I still have trouble understanding why people can’t feel as much as I can, or see things I can.

      Ya know, a great example is when you meet someone new who you just know is not good. You know that vibe that radiates off deadbeat people? And You just see them and you’re like….. ugh… oh no… I don’t want to be talking to this person. But everyone else around you can’t seem to understand why you feel that way?

      And yeah its true, INFJ types are societies Martyrs. Martin Luther King Jr., Joan Of Arc, and Ghandi were all INFJ types. But I think the reason why is because when you know better, how can you not fight for what you believe in ya know? Once you’ve seen truth you can’t go back to being blind

  2. Infj here; and thanks! Your blog helps me.understand myself and let me know that im not alone. Fellow infjs out there, hang on!!!! All the best!!!

    1. Hey there not sure why I didn’t reply to this comment before! But thanks for the comment! I also just did a post about astrological signs and, at least for me, I feel like my sign and being INFJ are oddly similar, I wonder if your sign and personality type also do?

      1. I’m Infj and Sagittarius. I haven’t drawn comparisons yet but Sagittarius reminds me of wild wolves (and wild centaurs), and someone who seems very versed in the mbti (<-is it called ?) types and particularly Infj's, says Infj's are like a "steppenwolf". The Sagittarians I know seem to like mischief and play, I also recall the person saying play is important for the Infj and I find play and fun extremely important, which is sometimes hard to do in this otherly-focussed society (currently). Also the "Why ?" question seems to be an Infj thing and a Sagittarius thing.

  3. Enjoyed reading your post. INFJ, here. I periodically look for other viewpoints from other INFJ’s to see the world from someone with a similar lens.

    The part about the dark side, I really get it. There’s iron under the velvet. It would be easy to turn over to that iron entirely. But the balance is best.

    I’ve become a bit of a recluse. My work demands a lot of alone time in the studio and my biggest hobby is writing my book. For me, it is a happy situation, because I’m not dealing with someone else’s ridiculousness. All the whining, bickering, and me me me’s, when the whole world is in a field of razor wire.

    Back during the industrial revolution, people would send their spoiled brats overseas to get a better world view and appreciation for what they have at home. The poorer people didn’t necessarily need it because they grew up with good ethics about work and home, had gone to the school of hard knocks as it were. There wasn’t a boob tube to tell people what to think, they learned how to do that for themselves. Now that we have the internet, the opportunity is there for those who care to look for it, without the cost and haggard trails, to expand world views while skipping inoculations. Scholarly information at the tips of one’s fingers that can develop their problem solving skills and give them surgical thinking capabilities. Amazing discoveries being made.

    So for those who want to know what is there that would shock them silly about the world, look up Liberia. There’s a documentary on youtube about it that will absolutely level you. After that, you’re on your own.

    I grew up the youngest of four, by a ten year distance, and was a punching bag for the lot of them. It made me very very tough. Eventually, by age six or seven, I was establishing respect by ambushing from the tree tops onto whichever one it was that had earned my ire that week. I think ALL girls should be raised like warriors, taught how to use weapons and to fight right as well as fight dirty.

    I’ve seen grown “men” yanking on the tiny arms of their four year old daughters, screaming that they shouldn’t be so slow, in the mall parking lot. I told him he shouldn’t be such a huge douche. I use my eyes to stab and glare down the biggest idiots on the planet. If you’re a parent, take that job seriously, get it right if you never get anything else right in your entire life. You know, cars usually have tire irons in the trunk, right?

    1. hahaha I am in full support of you takin down bitches with your eyes hahaha! And yeah ones thing I’ve learned as I grow up is that adulthood isn’t even real. Someone who is 20 can be way more mature than someone 40

  4. Wow. It’s amazing when you find out there are people in the world who are… you know, similar to you. I spend most of my time daydreaming. I mean, dreaming so much I actually miss the characters I meet when I wake up. They are just so REAL, you know what I mean?

  5. Excellent article. I’m an INFJ and you had some wonderful pics, I hadn’t seen before. The thought that we “come closevto suicide but won’t actually do it” is so me as are all of the others. When Robin Williams did it, I so freaked out. I wondered what it was that finally pushed him to that point and what was my breaking point.

    I’ve been diagnosed as codependent but if you look at the symptoms vs. the characteristics of the INFJ, they seem the same thing.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and voicing these feelings.

  6. Thanks for this post, all my life I believe I am the only of my own kind. sometime I told people to don’t try to understand me you will never know who actually I am. my behavior is different for different kind of people. when I did take test on personality type I got INFJ and then I understand I am not the only one. and about you the part

    “Do you know every night before I go to sleep I lay in bed and make “movies?in my head”

    I do that a lot, sometime I could not sleep whole night since the movie in my mind, I played got so interesting that it interfere with my sleep.

    Any way great article! It is nice to know we are not alone or who know we may have our own planet too. 🙂

  7. I love this. I felt like I wrote it. Stay strong & faithful to your inner voice… Your truth. And when your world doesn’t jive do what soothes your Soul & Share your goodness more.

    And if you haven’t yet, learn to meditate. For us its like torture to begin, but necessary for our growth in finding a comfortable balance in the world… Indeed, it is essential. ❤️

  8. Hi Dark Horse! Awesome post! It really resonated with me and my life. I’m an INFJ and sometimes an INFP. I definitely had the depression and anxiety for a lot of my youth and early 20’s. I think you hit the nail on the head when you said we need to live the life we are meant to and that the commoners world just doesn’t do it for us. I’ve always felt that way and that there’s something more to life that we just don’t quite experience in this world.

    I did therapy too and that helped build a foundation for inner change. Then I found a really amazing meditation group. I did that for a while and my depression seemed to dissipate all together. It’s actually hard for me to hold on to sadness for very long. I started living more in harmony with my inner self as well and gaining relationships that reflected that.

    I wish you well on your journey 🙂 and thank you for sharing your insights!

    1. that is actually completely beautiful! You are actually an inspiration for me now! Im so happy that you have overcome everything you have and I think you could teach the world a lot!
      ROCK OUT!

  9. I absolutely love your enthusiasm. Every site always says such negative things about INFJs… Thanks for pointing out the good things!

  10. This post was absolutely amazing! As an INFJ I’ve always felt slightly out of place, but when taking the Meyers-Briggs test for the first time for a health class, I learned I was and INFJ everything made so much more sense to me.
    The section of your post where you talked about playing “movies” in your head, or vivid day-dreams (similar to Lucid Dreaming) is something I experience all the time, but I’ve read very few articles that discuss that aspect of our personality type, so I really appreciated reading that, and knowing I’m not the only one out there. You really have done a wonderful job on this post, thank you for this.

    1. reading this made me so so so so so so so sooooooooooo happy, you have no idea! I totally get that feeling of loneliness and isolation and given that INFJ types makes up only 1% of the population, its clear to see why. So love knowing I helped brighten peoples day and know that there people out there who are looking for more!

  11. Hey Dark!

    Nice and detail information about INFJ. I’M also an Infj. i always feel unhappy without reason. Frequently feel depressed, don’t know what to do with my life. Im aggressive too don’t enjoy parties etc, enjoy thinking.

  12. Finding out I was an INFJ years ago ( also through a therapist) was pretty mind-blowing. I never paid any attention to personality types before then. Suddenly I realized I was, one, not alone no matter how isolated and a freak I’d always thought I was, and two, validated by the characteristics of an INFJ that fit my life experiences so perfectly.
    We are, as a group, the most complicated people on the planet, and that’s okay, but it also means we suffer, a lot.
    I totally identify with the feeling that there must be more out there, that I need to find something, call it the meaning of life, or magic, or destiny, whatever.
    I can give a little advice here, just from my own experiences.
    That thing you’re looking for, it’s the need to make a difference in the world, to be of service, to leave the world better than you found it, whatever that means for you.
    Find it.
    And don’t be afraid to fail at finding it and starting over. But don’t stop until you figure it out. It took me 35 years even though the answer was right in front of me all along. I just couldn’t see it because I wasn’t ready yet.
    The downside is that we’re miserable until we find our purpose. The upside is absolute breathtaking elation when the light comes on.
    The point is, it’s all beautiful, the misery and the happiness, the pain and the elation.
    It’s all good.

    1. I like you called it “magic” Even though it may not be the typical though of magic, i thinking finding your place in the world and unlocking happiness is a type of magic in a way right? And yeah, its like that famous quote. Life is a journey yo have to enjoy the ride before you get to the destination!

  13. That’s me and I border on depression frustration as well. I should be doing more I know I should I just can’t figure out how to get there

    1. Trust me I have days where I say the exact same thing. But you also got remember this is your one and only life and you can’t blow it! If you need to go crazy one day and book a plane ticket and go travel the world do it! If you’ve always wanted to cook, after work one day buy a whole goose and try to make it and prepare it like its from a magazine! do whatever it is your passion is telling you to do and then see if the frustration subsides a little bit. if it does, keep doing it!

  14. I’ve known I was an INFJ for awhile but I started doing research and it has helped me, ‘see the light’ so to speak and help myself find inner peace. Thank you for the awesome post. I am a capriocorn INFJ, Not sure how this effects me but I can see some similarities between the two. Everyone have a fantasic day!

    1. There is actually an INFJ Facebook page! some of the posts are absolute shit, but theres actually some good stuff there too! Recommend checkin it out, from one INFJ to another 😉

  15. Okay. Yes this is gonna be a little long but I need to put it down. I have an INFJ friend and a sister as well. I love my sister and I loved my infj friend but now we have real rifts between us. I don’t really know is this is her dark side but she got close to my other best friend(who is the daughter of the head of the institution that we work on weekends with) and then started to treat me as I’m nothing 😑 Somtimes I think she plays such deep mind games as to no one can object that that’s even a mind game. She stays on the back seat but fires though other people with whom she created personal connection with (obviously only after I talk to them much). This is frustrating because she was so nice like 6 months back and did lot of things for me but now she seems like a completely different person. My sister also being infj can point out the details about her sometimes trying to put me down while I lifted her up when she was depressed and stuff. She also mimics me in fashion stuff and extroverted things and the friends that I’m in contact with. What do you think as an INFJ? Is she doing it unintentionally or all planned with intention. Thank you 😊
    [PS: I’m a mixture of ESFJ and ENFJ even according to the official test]

    1. hmmmm…. well one thing to keep in mind is your age. How old are you? Because I have some bad news, modern culture has turned girls between the ages of 12 to about 30 into raging bitch machines. Sadly, its a culture for women thats both alarming and depressing. So don’t get too hurt over it, just realize that she may be hurting herself and lashing out. Persona opinion is to keep your distance from her and make new friends. once she sees that you don’t care about her anymore she will probably get bored and leave you alone.

      PS- as an INFJ I’m sad and annoyed by her behavior. One of the greatest things about being INFJ is the ability to feel what others are feeling. So if she knows she’s hurting you and is enjoying it then she’s just a crappy person. Like i said move on, life can be so much better for you 🙂

      1. Yes. This so much makes sense. I did just leave her alone because it was very taxing for me to be around her. I usually get along with every one but don’t know why would she act that way. Probably she will realize with time. Or she won’t. Yes I should move on and find better way. And I do agree about INFJs being able to recognize the feelings because my sister is one and I know she would understand even when don’t speak a word. Thank you so much. I needed a perspective. Thank you for your time. 🙂

  16. I feel your pain. Just found out I am an INFJ. Divorcing my narcissis X wife. Yes we happen to attract the worse sorts of spouses. Have 4 great kids, a great job, and a great support group, my family back home in Chicago. It will be ok, just keep talking, don’t bottle it up. When you speak it’s pure words of wisdom! We articulate reality like no one on earth, so let it fly, do not hold back. It will be ok!

    1. haha yeah dude thats one thing Ive learned about INFJ’s were really good at not holding back…. even though it sometimes gets us in trouble, I like that were part of population who is willing to say something if its true rather than just stay silent because its easier

  17. The list of what INFJ’s are prone too made me so sad to actually see it all listed out, all of the things I constantly struggle through. BUT THEN I saw “What I do at parties..” chart and it made it laugh. It’s so tiring feeling yourself go from 1 to 100 in seconds (constant mood change)

    I actually took the Myers-Briggs test prior to therapy and when I told my therapist my results after several sessions. She looked at me and said, “well that makes perfect sense!” =| Lady, you just tell me how I can move on and find myself again. I had just walked out on this 6-year relationship where I allowed a narcissist to run my life and mentally/emotionally beat me down until there was nothing left of me.

  18. I’ve known for more than 20 years that I’m an INFJ, since a therapist gave me the test. Knowing hasn’t made life any easier. My partner of 25 years, an extrovert, would try to drag me to social events to cheer me up when I got depressed, which was often. He finally learned that it would only work with small groups of people I knew well, and sometimes it didn’t work at all. He would have to “debrief” me afterward, talk me down from the stress of being around people. But at least he was doing it because he loved me, and was trying to be kind.

    Unfortunately, he passed away two years ago, and I am facing life as as a middle-aged widow. Society isn’t terribly kind to widows; most people disappear right after the funeral because this society has such an immature attitude toward death. Nobody wants to be around misfortune because they think it might be catching. So now I have to force myself almost constantly into social interactions. I have to force myself to talk to people I don’t really know or don’t want to know; I have to join groups and go to events I’m not interested in just to have some contact with people. And for an INFJ, this kind of interaction is not only difficult, it’s extremely unsatisfying. It’s like being really hungry and only getting junk food. Or, if I were thirty years younger, like looking for true love and only being able to find one night stands in bars. I keep doing it because otherwise I can feel myself slipping into a very dark place from the isolation. But I keep hoping I’ll find a safe place where I don’t have to constantly make small talk and fake a smile just to have someone to talk to.

    Sorry this is so long, but you know, the loneliness thing. Thanks for letting me write.

    1. You know, my grandma went through smoothen similar. For the first year or two after my grandpa died she was really depressed. Now, my grandma is one of the strongest people I know. She isn’t the kind to come out and say I’m depressed, but you could tell. She didn’t put out any Christmas decorations for 2 years, the very mention of grandpas name would make her go silent. She isolate herself for a while. But you know what, she did what you did. She (at 75 years old) threw herself into situations. She started leading a woman group at church, she started water aerobics at the YMCA, volunteered at community dinners, OMG the amount my grandmother does is mind-blowing. She is now 85 and I swear to god she is a busier person than I am now. You’ll call her and shell be like “Oh I can’t do dinner, I have to go to a bible retreat in Columbus for the weekend,Ill call you when Im back”. She teaches me that life is never over! So keep up the good work, it will pay off!

  19. I’m an INFJ and I never knew how isolated I was. I have autism so it’s really hard to fit in. One time, somebody said I’m only an INFJ because I want to be a special snowflake. I pulled out a large hunk of salami and broke his jaw. That was the closest I’ve gotten to the dark side.

    1. You have to get used to people saying that. Because there are actually LOTS of generic people out there who claim to be INFJ so they can feel special…. but one thing us INFJ’s know is how different we really are. And the proof is in the way we live our lives. The way connecting with social norms is so hard, the way that were able to see beyond the bullshit when nobody else is. The way we are so true to ourselves…so true in fact that we will follow our own arrow even it makes look weird or become an outcast. You will always know you’re really an INFJ everyday when you wake up and go…FUCK….the world doesn’t get me

      1. Yes!!!!!! Before I came to consider myself an Introverted Intuitive Feeling Juggernaut, I would get shy about this sort of thing. I do not even care if people think I am weird for listening to my favorite music. For instance, many people look at me with peculiar looks on their faces when I listen to my music on the subway. I even remained polite and kept the volume to the minimum that I could still hear while holding my cellular telephone’s speakers to my ears.

        Someone came over and poked me on the shoulder and started yelling at me, but I could not hear him due to my partial deafness. I replied to him, “Sir, why are you yelling at me?” He said, “Because I can’t just speak or else the music will drown me out.” This was when I realized that he was judging me due to my taste in music (at the time I was listening to Merzbow). I did not reply because I do not like jokers and pranksters, and as a result, he tried to grab my cellular telephone. I replied by grabbing his bag of deli meat and running away screaming that this was just one more sign that I was an INFJ. I took the salami from the bag and placed it in my coat pocket, and when the man caught me on the other side of the compartment, he took the bag, but did not find the salami. I have carried the salami every day since, to remember that I am an INFJ.

  20. I’m so happy for the younger generation that has access to this information. I’m 43 and didn’t learn until about 2 years ago that I was INFJ. Textbook. I’ve known since my earliest memories that I was drastically different than those around me. I just couldn’t articulate why. I was lucky that I escaped any serious depression (until a few years ago). People used to use the word “intimidating” to describe me and I never understood why. How can someone be insecure AND intimidating? Now I understand. Definitely have the empath/highly sensitive/intuitive bordering on psychic/martyr thing going on. And the eyes oh my God lol. I’m told I have a death stare. Don’t mean to, I’m just reading your energy. So strange to me that others don’t have this ability. Could go on forever, but the most important thing is to realize that we have kindred. I didn’t know that until recently, and though I may not know my fellow INFJS personally, I’m happy to know of your existence!

    1. hey right back at ya! I feel that as an INFJ the world can cause you to become super isolated because they don’t want to understand how different we are…. compounding the problem is that we do understand how different we are, and so we know fighting with the commoners is useless… and sadly, that usually causes us to retreat into our shells. So its ALWAYS good to break out of that shell and know you’re not alone

  21. im infj yeah its rly rough lol nobody understands me and i dont like these detractors who say they dont lke injfs thx for understanding me tho rofl im all like everyday i say ‘im sorry for being different” and i hate entps because tey say im just trying to be special snowflake thx

    1. haha! Sadly, living with normal people who don’t get it will always be a part of life for us. Its a challenge I think we all need to come to terms with sometimes but it does indeed make life difficult

  22. I am an INFJ and relate almost too much to this post. I’m definitely not living the life I’m meant to right now, and I agree with the part that says “that literally kills us.” Often, I do feel like an outcast and do feel things a lot more strongly than other people. It’s hard, but I agree that INFJs are the coolest personality type. 🙂

    1. Just gotta remember to keep on rockin’ out! When I get down sometimes really good movie helps, so the next time you’re feeling like a complete outcast try flipping out a movie you’ve ben dying to watch, maybe you’ll connect with some of the characters

  23. As an INFJ this is the type of thing I look forward to everyday. That daily reminder that I’m not alone and that it’s possible for others to truly feel as I do, unlike my family. It’s definitely difficult living with people whose personalities are so vastly different from mine, and even more so when three of them think they are INFJs too. Thank you so much for making this and for reminding me that I’m not something wrong but just different.

    1. haha TRUST ME!!!! Living with and being around people who don’t understand is SOOOOO annoying and I totally feel you on that one! But at the same time Im always kind of thankful Im different because the lives of the common man bores the hell out of me! So keep going and remember to follow what your gut tells you!

  24. This was the coolest fuckin article I have ever read! It’s me, all of it. I only found out about the “types” about 6 months ago and I believe that if everyone in the world was made aware of their type , maybe there would be a little more compassion in this cruel beautiful world. Thanks for the info.

  25. I am also an INFJ that suffers from horrible anxiety and i don’t even want to admit it, but I’m afraid depression as well. I often find myself trapped in my head and even when I try to extrovert my thoughts it feels like not a single soul could understand me. Does this sound pretty accurate to your situation? If so, how the hell does one make it stop? I should also mention I am in a relationship with Mr. ENTP, who believes HE is the misunderstood one in the relationship, so most of the time my mouth stays shut in fear of saying something that could potentially ruin the peace between us. Point being- have you found a cure to any of this? I’ve heard many people suggest things like “take a bubble bath and listen to music” or “find your muse and run with it”. Now let me tell you I am someone who absolutely basks in my alone time, and I take bubble baths to get even more in tune with myself, which usually results in me overthinking more. SO i’m starting to think that instead of BLOCKING OUT the racing thoughts, that there must be some way to slow them down, or atlas interpret them differently, right?

    1. A great trick I do is what I call the “Anti Craziness Shower”. I think I have written a post about it actually…give me 2 seconds let me find it…ah here we go!
      Ok so this post is how to do the shower right!

      https://youshouldseemyscars.wordpress.com/2013/12/18/some-inspiration-otherwise-known-as-the-anti-craziness-shower/

      and this post is some great songs to listen to in the shower:

      https://youshouldseemyscars.wordpress.com/2014/05/31/songs-for-an-anti-caziness-shower/

      BE SURE TO FOLLOW ALL THE STEPS! These showers always make me feel better! … PS- once you take an anti craziness shower, you’ll never do a bubble bath again

    2. It is really difficult to get your thoughts out because they are different, but you know it’s right and that you should but they all bottleneck and you can’t get the thoughts out quick enough so you can’t get them out to sound right or have others understand. It’s so frustrating, and I’m not glad you feel this way but I am glad I am not the only one that is frustrated by this. HOWEVER, I have started to find my outlet in writing all my thoughts down. Honestly if you need to get something off your chest it’s the best option, grab your phone, computer, or literally anything around you at the moment and write them down. It all starts making sense. I used to do it when I was younger but then stopped because I didn’t want anyone reading my thoughts. Which was probably the worst decision because it all stayed in my head. I have now recently stopped caring what others think so much and revert back to writing things down. If someone makes me angry I write it in a letter and just put aside that it’s a strange way to get my thoughts across, because it works!

  26. I really liked your post. I’m an INFJ and have struggled through school, work and society. From the outside, nobody would know how miserable and unfulfilled I’ve been because I’ve medicated with a lot of anti-depressants and kept up appearances. Finally found a job where I can work remotely and that helped a lot. Still, we don’t fit in to this physical world so well. Praying, meditating and the occasional “escape” are the best I can do. Thank you for sharing your wisdom and encouragement!

    1. Thank you! It is always amazing to know were not alone… especially when your personality type is literally statistically the rarest on the planet. Because it makes it very easy for us to feel so different from the world. Stay strong!

  27. I feel you. I thought I was bipolar for a bit because I feel things so extremely in either direction. I’m finally making progress and coming out of a severe anxiety/depression bout. It was awful. Hang in there you beautiful unicorn. The world needs our insight, whether they know it or not. 😉

    1. well thank you! And trust me, as someone who has been through WAYYYYYYY too many extreme depression and anxiety spells, I can assure it can get better if you work hard. And sometimes, it even helps just to say “fuck it all”, plop in a sappy inspiration film, pour yourself some tea, and allow your brain to relax for a bit!

      1. Just found out what the term narcissistic personality disorder means and that I was most definitely raised by one (or maybe both parents). This has changed my life. Just today I am finding out about Complex PTSD and it’s effect on trauma survivors. AND also that I fit the description of INFJ personality. So much to process, and all this explains soooo much. I think I will finally able to go forward with the rest of my life content and with a completely new understanding of things, and I no longer feel that everything that has happened is “my fault”. AND I am NOT weird and overly sensitive…I believe that I am just a misunderstood INFJ who was targeted in childhood for emotional and physical abuse. My life is changed. 🙂
        And so many of those “quiet” doors are slamming, now that I can see clearly.

      2. Im so glad you’re finding out how to move forward in life! It’s so important that you realize not everything is your fault. I spent soon many years believing I was worth nothing because everyone kept telling me that. Once you free yourself from the “opinions” (which in general, tend to be overtly biased) then you can start to become your real self!

  28. Hi I really enjoyed your post! This is the first time I am being open online about being an INFJ because I don’t really think many others would understand, however here I am comfortable about talking because of how your post made me feel! When I found out I was an INFJ I cried because I realized there’s not something wrong with me it’s just the personality type. I have been researching it ever since so I can try to help myself.
    I have such a huge inner world in my head that is so secretive that just admitting that to anyone is a relief. I do as well feel that I have a purpose to help the world, and although I don’t ever want to seem conceited for believing that, I really do & I believe that all others like me do! And if all INFJs feel the same way that is really awesome. Could you imagine if all of us with the similar pure good-of-heart minds to just want to help the world, could actually do if we stuck together? I guess that’s why I’m finally writing something about it and I have to say I am feeling good to have done so. The part about “wanting more than the common world” hits me deep. It’s like there’s something missing, or something more that you want to create and dive into. Maybe that’s what our purpose is: to create more good things to make the world a better place. Thank you for the post, it’s hard to come by things that really register with me like this, probably because it’s another INFJ and we are so rare it’s difficult to be on the same plane with others! Thank you!

    1. Hey!! Im so glad you liked the post! And yes, I totally agree with you, I feel like I want to make good things for this world. Personally, I love to write, and I would love to write stories that inspire people and make them happy, and give them the energy they need to rock out life! What are some things you would like to do for the world?

Leave a Reply

