Who Says You Cant Come Home? Or, Dealing With Visiting Home When Living Away

toledo

So I flew home yesterday.  Ill be visiting my home in Ohio for almost 3 weeks before I head back down under.   And Already I’m seeing the massive differences between my new home and my hometown.

There are squirrels, bunnies, and deer here.  People dress differently.  Melbourne is a massive cultural hub and meeting point for the world.  Ohio is…. lots of people dressing in clothes they bought at Target.

Melbourne is full of trendy, in shape city people.  Toledo is full of obese, asthma-riddled blue-collar types.

And yet…. there is something oddly charming about my hometown now.  its quiet. REALLY QUIET.  No bustling trams or a busy international airport.   Instead there is lots of grass, fields, and parks.

This is what the riverbank looks like in Melbourne:

toledo2

and this is what the riverbank looks like in my hometown:

toledo1

 

But the real challenge will be dealing with the panic and anxiety.

Flying home was amazing!  I was worried that flying and being in the airport while being sick (which i was) would bring out the worst in my panic and anxiety.  But actually it was fine.  I had a really great time.  I love traveling!  i didn’t feel anxious at all during the entire 32 travel experience.

WHICH SHOWS ME THAT I HAVE MADE MASSIVE PROGRESS! 

toledo3

WHHHHOOOOOO YA BABY YA! 

So I think my plan is to relax while I’m here and really think about the progress I have made.  REALLY LET IT SINK IN.   FEEL THE CHANGES.  FEEL THE POWER I NOW HAVE. 

When I first started therapy back in December before I left I was like, “…..um…. this….ugh…this is embarrassing but… do you have any tips of ways I can stay calm when I step outside of this building?  Because Im worried I’m going to have a panic attack”

and now Ive crossed the globe while being sick and didn’t even break a sweat.

toledo4

So now I turn the spotlight to you dear reader.   Are any of you not realizing your success?   Are you guys like me?  Maybe you have been overcoming your obstacles, but instead of really focusing on it and embracing the changes and being happy about it, you’re nitpicking at the things you still do wrong?

Im gonna ask you to look inside yourself right now.  Think about this:  WAS I THE SAME PERSON 6 MONTHS AGO? 

Are you maybe better than think you are right now?  And then, no matter what you think.  Even if you think you’ve gotten worse over the last 6 months.

SIT BACK

TAKE A BREATH

SMILE (even if you don’t to)

and say, IM ALIVE AND TOMORROW IS A NEW DAY. 

~Lets be nice to ourselves today!

The Dark Horse

 

Leave a Reply

