Dealing With Rejection

hope

Lets talk about rejection.   I know that when you have depression, anxiety, or panic, dealing with rejection is probably about 100 times harder for you than the person sitting next you.  And thats not shocking.

All three; depression, anxiety, and panic, are all internalized problems.  We are not raging angry people who lash out when we get hurt.  We turn it in on ourselves.  We make ourselves the punching bags.  (which personally, I think its more noble to be like us, than those people who whenever they are having a bad day, make it a point to MAKE EVERYONE AROUND THEM just as miserable)

Hey look there is a positive point right there!  There at least is some merit in our problems!   Give yourself a pat on the back!

Anyhoo, so yes.  Rejection is harder for us because obviously we will beat ourselves up way harder than anyone else.

hope1

Oh believe me kiddos, The old Dark Horse has had his fair share of rejection.  Ive ridden the train of self despair many times because of it, but as I’m getting older I’m realizing that I’m more confident and comfortable in myself.

Here is the number 1 thing Ive learned about rejection:

IT HAS ALREADY HAPPENED

there is no point in sulking in it because it is done!   Once you’re at home hating yourself for being rejected it has already happened!   There is no changing it at that point, SO MOVE FORWARD!   If you think you did something wrong or was genuinely in the wrong…then change.  GROW from it.  If you think you’re right and someone else was just being a cunt…then hunnybunches listen up, THEY WERE JUST BEING A CUNT.   One time a guy stopped talking to me because “I was just too weird”.   Which back when that happened in my head I was like….

I’m weird…

nobody will ever like me….

he’s right…

why can’t i just be normal?…..

But now that I’m older and I see how fucking awesome I am, I’m like…

Well that motherfucker is boring as fuck and a pot head…

Plus… he had no sense of adventure….

AND he didn’t share any interests of mine!

Yes thats right!  Id much rather have a conversation learning about Flash Mountain (look it up) or debating the existence of aliens, than to sit there and blah blah blah sex…blah blah blah…football.   Yea, so fuck him.

hope2

Another thing Ive learned is just to

WALK AWAY 

Sometimes, Getting rejected is inevitable.  Sometimes you are in a wrong place at a wrong time.  Sometimes you are somewhere where you’re not happy, or doing something you’re not happy doing.

And yes.  You will probably get rejected.  Either from a job, or from the people you’re around, or the sport you’re trying out for and so on.

But just think and really remember…. DID IT MAKE YOU THAT HAPPY ANYWAYS? 

Like I had a job at this diner during high school that I was ALWAYS on the brink of getting fired from.  I didn’t get along with anyone I worked with.  I didn’t really support the company.  The food was shit.  Everything there just sucked, so yes I didn’t perform well because I hated it.   But I stayed because the money was good and just felt like I was the worst employee and that everyone around me hated me.

Finally one day I quit because I was like… coming to this job MAKES ME FEEL LIKE SHIT.  So why stay?  And I think thats a good lesson to learn.  Know when you’re just somewhere you don’t belong and once you acknowledge that you can prevent yourself from feeling a whole world of shit.

hope4

Lastly, tomorrow is always a brand new day.

If you just broke up with someone.

If you just found out you grandma died.

Even if you were just diagnosed with a disease.

TOMORROW IS A NEW DAY

The sun will rise and life will stay in motion.

NEVER EVER QUIT.  NEVER EVER GIVE UP.  ALWAYS REMEMBER TO LIVE LIFE

~The Dark Horse

as always, not proofread.

3 thoughts on “Dealing With Rejection

  1. Reblogged this on My Inner Geek and commented:
    I think this is a really positive read and explains the differences in thinking really well. Usually we’re our own worst enemy and that inner dialogue we share with ourselves can really affect how we feel. I know this can seem strange to people who don’t suffer with anxiety, but often I’m looking inwardly and seeing faults where there are none. When I struggle to get along with people I assume it must be something I have done wrong, as if it is all my responsibility to make the friendship work out. In some ways I find it easier to hang out with people I’ve known for a long time because then I can switch off and be myself without worrying about it. The thing is, you can’t really control how other people act or treat you, only how you respond to it. There are so many different types of people in the world that you can’t really know for sure how all of them would think about you, so don’t let the words of the few get you down.

Leave a Reply

