Dear God (A Letter From An Atheist)

The Creation of Adam by Michelangelo at the Sistine chapel, Vatican city, Rome, Italy
The Creation of Adam by Michelangelo at the Sistine chapel, Vatican city, Rome, Italy

So, I will just start by saying that I don’t believe in you.  But I’m writing this letter to ask for help just in case you are real.

Life seems really really hard sometimes.   Like insanely, fucking hard.  (Can I say “fucking” to you?)  I mean if you invented the human race and know all things you surely would have known that word was going to be invented right?  And furthermore, you surely know that when I say ‘fucking” Im not actually talking about sex.  Im using it as a way to show emphasis on how much pain Im in sometimes.   And if you do know al things and knew the world fucking was going to be invented and used so prevalently then you can’t possibly be offended by it right?   I mean, its just a word and you’re God.   Don’t you have like planets to build and species to give life to or something?

god1

Anyways, so I’m writing this to make you a deal of sorts.

That deal is this: 

If you’re up there, you know me.  Im a 25 yr. old guy and I’ve never drank or done drugs.  Ive never gone out of my way to hurt anyone and Im a liberal!  Im all about giving to the poor, increasing social services, and implementing systems to help reduce crime and misery in my country!   Dude I even have a blog that is all about trying to help people who are in pain and make their days (and mine) a bit brighter!   I am working towards a better world!!!!!!

Is not believing in you seriously the worst sin I could commit? 

Especially since there is literally not a lick of evidence in support of you.   Science proves otherwise actually.

(And just between you and me, have you seen the people who believe in you lately?) …..Let me give you a little snapshot

god3

….they’re a bit cult-like.  And don’t even get me started on the Catholics and their big pompous dog and pony show.

But to the topic at hand,

Though I don’t believe in you I AM indeed spreading what you want.  Love, hope, and help for those who need it.  So lets just say this:  I don’t believe in you, but I’m not an enemy.  Im an ally.

So since Im helping you out here is what I need from you, I need some strength, some courage, and it would SO CRAZY AMAZING COOL if maybe you could just nudge the fates in my favor a bit?  I battle (Ugh…I hate saying that word. I feel like a cancer patient) But anyways, I battle with depression, anxiety, and panic everyday of my life.  And I seriously try and I think I’ve made some major and amazing progress, but I also realize I have nothing to live for.

I don’t really have any friends because when you’re 25 and don’t drink or do drugs and don’t enjoy gossiping about others, pretty much nobody wants anything to do with you because you bring down their good (but shallow) time.

And I feel lost.  Completely lost.  I really want to do something great with my life. I want my voice heard, and  I KNOW I CAN DO GREAT THINGS.  I want my voice to be heard so I can change the world.  Give people hope. Inspire people to want more.  And for those people who are mean to others?  Well someone needs to stick up for the little guy and tell em to fuck off! (again, using fuck not in a bad way, but you know….)

So anyways God.  Help me out.  Throw me some cosmic slack.  Let me meet some amazing people.  People that can give me hope again that I can be happy in my life, and maybe help me be one of the lucky ones where my voice can be heard?  Maybe this blog could somehow go viral or I can get a book deal or something?

Im trying, so hopefully you’re trying too, cool?

god4

Do I say Amen here?   I mean you can’t possibly be that pompous to make everyone say amen when speaking to you right? Im sure if you’re real you have to be way more chill than that.

So lets just agree to disagree, but know we are working towards the same thing,

~The Dark Horse

19 thoughts on “Dear God (A Letter From An Atheist)

  1. Hi. Perhaps an answer from God? I am in my mid-40s and struggle with you daily, but am finally making some headway. I just started my blog today in an effort to heal and to reach others. -Damaged but Trudging

    1. well I am gonna follow you right now and see how the journey goes! My favorite comedian is Kathy Griffin and she literally didn’t finally start getting legit famous and taken seriously until she was like 50 yrs old. now she has a six pack, a boyfriend who is 30, and an awesome career doing what she loves. So thats proof that sometimes success comes later, but from what I hear, the later it comes the sweeter it tastes!

  2. You would probably just laugh at the idea of finding a 20-30 something Church group that meets during the week. Fuck, who knows, maybe God answer you there. (Great, now you have me saying it).

    If you don’t want to try to find a churchy-religious 20-30 something groups in your area, maybe there is an local atheist chapter where you can meet people who don’t believe in god(s) and they can help you through this time. Speaking with a psychiatrist might not be a bad idea either, they can determine if you need medication for you depression, anxiety, and panic. Outside of that, it seems what you are looking for most is a sense of community.

    BTW, the word Amen is simply proclaiming “So be it.” Honestly, that’s pretty chill if you ask me.

    1. hey man! thanks for the reply. Yeah I don’t know about the Christian group thing because I’m quite liberal and I’m gay, and i don’t believe in god. So right there I have a feeling Im going to make a few enemies (and probably more enemies than friends

      and for atheists, I’m not an atheist how most Christians seem them. I don’t believe in God due to logic and life experience, but I by no means am out trying to join atheist groups and ban the bible and stuff. I fully believe that some people need religion. They need the hope for a God otherwise they will have nothing to live for.

      as far as medication, i totally refuse hahah! And i have my therapists backing on that one. Its proven that better and permanent change comes from overcoming your problems rather than just becoming addicted to a pill until you die. It just makes the path to recovery a total bitch hahahah!

      1. I guess the point of my comment was that it sounds what you are looking for is community support. I’m glad to hear that you have a already have a therapist.

        I’m guessing a “Hang in there” Kitty poster doesn’t really do the trick when you are dealing with overcoming your problems. All I can say is don’t give up (which you don’t really seem the type) and don’t be afraid to put yourself out there and meet new types of people, even if you don’t agree with them or think they will be “more enemies than friends.”

      2. true. what i need in life is people. i think thats actually what a lot of people need right now and our modern society has a way of separating everyone and chipping away at a sense of community

        but yeah I like your comments and i think you seem pretty cool… for a religious person :p

  3. Great post. I hope tge big guy sends some mojo your way but you sound like you’re on the right track anyways. Drugs and alcohol become less important the older you get, mate.

    1. haha thanks man! and yeah i really hope I’m on the right path. Sometimes it just takes a long long while and a few dead ends right? Someone once said that most people think the road to success is a straight lint upward, but it looks more like driving on a road through the mountains hahahah!

  4. Kathy Griffen and I don’t often see eye to eye but there is no doubt that she is very good at what she does. I have very happy for her success. There is definitely something to be said for patience.

    1. Oh I love what she does. She has a good bit about the haves making fun of the have-nots versus the have-nots making fun of the haves. Thats why she left the fashion police. Check out some interviews by her, you may see a different side 🙂

  5. Excellent letter. Of course, you will receive no answer, unfortunately. This is because, as you know, there is no God out there to answer you.

    See my blog for similar posts.

  6. You seem to be a force for good. That means you ‘ll meet opposition.
    From a Christian (but not church going) point of view, since God seldom writes directly on word press and you were asking lol I’ll hazard an answer.
    There are forces of evil as well as good out there. It’s because of your potential you tend to have to battle the bad stuff so much – you’re dangerous! particularly if you do happen to join forces with God and get that power to really change stuff.
    Why do I say this? Because it happened that way to me. Why do I believe in God? Because after years of searching in every place for something real, something worth giving my life to (and I do mean most places! lol!) I kind of crashed headlong into him and realised to my shock (and great relief) he was real and quite different from the usual religious way he was portrayed. Hell, he was more radical than I was.
    So that’s my answer and I didn’t even use the word fuck lol!
    Hope you find your way whatever it turns out to be.

  7. Dude look if there is no god who do you think made whole the world and it got made by itself? It doesn’t make sense tell me why you dont belive in god. The best thing i know is god. God is always trying us and it could be sometimes very (fucking)hard but it worth it you say why? Bcoz than paradise wouldn’t make sense anymore the good ones will go to paradise and the bad ones i mean the ones who dont want to be good will go to hell for a time and than they will get back to heaven. God is the one and he is compassionate and merciful and he deserves to be prayed if you got intrested or not(i mean i think you will be) go and check the holy Quran and the meaning dude this thing will change your mind about God. Good luck

    1. You sound like a good person so I have no problem with you or your beliefs. I think its great that believing God helps your life!

      as for me there is just no proof. You can easily say ‘without God who made the world” but I could just as easily say “well then who made God”

      there just isn’t anything that makes the bible logical or real to me. nor does the idea of an all powerful, loving, and knowing God who lets bad things happen. I understand you see it as a test…. but there just doesn’t seem to be a point in testing people if you’re all knowing, powerful, and loving

Leave a Reply

