UGH I CANT HANDLE THIS! ,Or, Getting Through The Tough Times

stress

Im sure you all know what Im talking about.  That crazy, stressed, bored, depressed, anxious, angry feeling you get when you are doing something you just don’t want to do.

That moment (but most likely longer than a moment) you just want to end.

Right now I’m feeling that.   I have 6 days left at work.  6 FUCKING DAYS, IT SEEMS SO SIMPLE RIGHT?????

But when you have gone almost a year being your horrible bosses bitch to try to get that promotion and stay on the good graces and keep your job in a time when lets face it, so many Americans don’t make good money…. WELL THAT 6 DAYS SEEMS LIKE A DEATH SENTENCE. 

stress2

I kind of am just praying for a tornado to strike.  A bomb threat to be called in.  ANYTHING really to make me not have to go in these last 6 days.

Why do I feel like this?

Because I have found myself again….well I’ve been getting closer.  Ive finally started seeing the bigger picture of life again.  Ive been seeing what it is I want to see and the person who I want to be.

And believe me people, working as management in retail selling horribly cheap clothing that falls apart and was constructed through slave labor in Bangladesh isn’t me.  It never was, it isn’t, and it never will be.

and seriously….. fuck them.

stress3

So what do we do?

How do we get through these moments where we just want to go complete Charles Manson on the world?

Well heres what I’m doing.

1.) Focusing on the future. I just keep reminding myself that I have 6 days left.  After that I have some time with the family and then I’m moving to New Zealand…. my boss will still be a 40yr old woman selling cheap clothing to tweens…who is the real winner?  ….me.

2.) Focusing on what i will do differently next time.  For me, it is to not work in retail anymore….well actually it is to not work a shit job in general.  Im 25 now with a college degree.  Im going to start going after what I want.  I don’t care how low my self esteem is and how much I think I will fail.  Im going to actually try at life.

3.) Imaging bad things happening to the store.   Oh sure this is horribly immature but trust me, some good cathartic release always helps.  Hate where you are?  Well take some time to sit back, relax, take a deep breath, and try to imagine an earthquake coming though and destroying the place. Or maybe its a comet?  Or the poltergeists of the spirits of the ancient turtle people who live underground because your store MAY HAVE BEEN built on the site of a Native American battle?????  I MEAN IT COULD HAPPEN RIGHT????? 

stress4

In any event, lets get through this together ok?

I can do it, you can do it, and we can help each other.

also, sorry for the cheesy clip art of “stressed people”.  I found them amusing

~ The Dark Horse

Leave a Reply

