Moving Past The Past

wild

Have any of you seen the movie WILD with Reese Witherspoon?  It is absolutely amazing, cringeworthy, inspirational, and tear-jerking.

But the one thing I love most about this movie is that it shows that you can overcome your past no matter how bad it is.  Which for me, and probably most of you reading this blog… thats a very good thing to see.

I won’t spoil the plot of so here is a super brief synopsis.  Reese, bad past. Walks the pacific crest trail to try to prove to herself she is worth something, just watch the damn film will you!

But here is what it means for me:   The ability to have the future bot repeat the past

Like I’ve mentioned before Im moving to New Zealand soon and I’m terrified but also insanely excited.  What I’m terrified of is repeating the past.  Allowing negativity of others bring me down. Allowing memories of past failures fill my head

Also memories of being made fun of as a kid.  memories of nobody believing in me.  Memories of letting my parents down.

Memories memories memories.  Until my brain was nothing but bad memories.  I couldn’t even think about the present or the future.  I was lost in my own head

wild2

This is kind of who I looked when I returned from Australia.  This is not how I will let New Zealand go.  I have changed.  I know I have

wild3

Oh yes… shit will go wrong.  I will probably have times where i wonder why I’m there.  What the fuck I’m doing with my life and times when i will cry and pray i was a child again back at home

wild4

But I will also meet some great new people
wild5

But most importantly I will see the beauty of a new place…. and ill get that damn show back!

~ Rock on bitches

The Dark Horse

2 thoughts on “Moving Past The Past

Leave a Reply

